St. Cuthbert Mayne Catholic Primary School


Safeguarding Children at St Cuthbert Mayne Catholic Primary School

This school is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. 

This means that we have a Child Protection Policy and procedures in place.

All staff (including supply staff, volunteers and governors) must ensure that they are aware of these procedures.

Parents and carers are welcome to read the Policy on request.

Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies when there are concerns about a child’s welfare.

We will ensure that our concerns about our pupils are discussed with his/her parents/carers first unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the child’s welfare.

Our Designated Safeguarding Lead is
Mrs Natalie McCarthy – Headteacher

Our Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead is
Mrs. Anne Gosling – Assistant Head Teacher /Year 1 Teacher/KS1 Lead

Chair of Governors:
Mrs Anne Halliday and Mr Tom Hall

If you are concerned about a child’s welfare, please record your concern, and any observations or conversation heard, and report to one of the Designated Safeguarding Leads as soon as possible the same day. There are proformas in each classroom and the school office.

Do NOT conduct your own investigation.

If your concerns relate to the actions or behaviour of a member of staff (which could suggest that she/he is unsuitable to work with children) then you should report this to the Headteacher (or the Chair of Governors if the concern relates to the Headteacher) – who will undertake the appropriate actions.